Best Educational Apps for Kids (2026 Parent Guide)
Most "best educational apps" lists are a wall of names with no way to tell which one suits your child. This one is organised the way the decision actually gets made: by your child's age, and by what you want the app to do. The short answer: Khan Academy Kids for ages 2 to 5, Duolingo ABC for learning to read, Khan Academy for school subjects from about 9, and an AI companion such as Askie for open-ended questions. Every age range, ads policy and parent control below was re-checked against the app's own store listing or website in October 2026, and each entry says plainly where the app falls short.
Disclosure: Askie, the app in the first entry, is made by us. We have kept it in because leaving it out would be its own kind of dishonesty, and we have given it the same "where it falls short" treatment as everything else. Nothing else on this page is sponsored, and no app paid to be here.
Quick picks by age
- Ages 2-5 (pre-readers): Khan Academy Kids, a complete early-learning curriculum, genuinely free, no ads, no subscription, works offline.
- Ages 3-7 (learning to read): Duolingo ABC for phonics and early reading, free with no ads and no in-app purchases.
- Ages 9-12 (school subjects): Khan Academy for maths and science explanations, free, though its App Store age rating is 13+ so it is a sit-with-them app rather than a hand-it-over one.
- Ages 4 and up, one app for curiosity: Askie, an AI companion that answers "why is the sky blue" at a 5-year-old's level or a 12-year-old's.
Quick picks by goal
| If you want… | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A structured curriculum for a young child | Khan Academy Kids | Standards-aligned reading and maths, free, ad-free |
| Reading practice and a big book library | Epic | 40,000+ books and audiobooks, offline downloads, up to four child profiles |
| Learning to read (phonics) | Duolingo ABC | Free, ad-free, no in-app purchases, works offline |
| A second language | Duolingo (older kids) or Lingokids (younger) | Duolingo covers 40+ languages; Lingokids is ad-free and built for 2-8 |
| Maths help with homework | Photomath | Step-by-step working, not just an answer |
| Maths practice that feels like a game | Prodigy Math | Standards-aligned questions inside an RPG, free parent account |
| An answer to every "why?" | Askie | Open-ended voice and chat, pitched at your child's age |
| First steps in coding | ScratchJr | Free, no purchases, runs on the device |
| The widest subject coverage for under-8s | ABCmouse | Reading, maths, science, art and music in one subscription |
The comparison table
Everything here was checked against the App Store listing, Google Play listing or the app's own website, most recently on 9 October 2026, and each app name links to the source we read. Scroll the table sideways on a phone.
| App | Ages | Subjects | Platforms | Price | Ads | Offline | Parent controls |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Askie | 4-15 | Q&A, stories, pictures, homework, languages | iOS, Android, web | Free plan, then $14.99/mo Premium or $39.99/mo Premium Max | None | No | Parent-only PIN, transcript and artwork review, safety heads-up |
| Khan Academy Kids | 2-8 | Reading, phonics, maths, storybooks | iOS, Android | Free, no subscription | None | Yes | In-app controls; parent area |
| ABCmouse | 2-8 | Reading, maths, science, art and music | Web, iOS, Android | Subscription; starts free | No third-party ads | Yes | Progress tracking; kidSAFE+ COPPA |
| Duolingo ABC | Preschool to 1st grade | Phonics, sight words, handwriting | iOS, Android | Free, no purchases | None | Yes | Nothing to gate |
| Lingokids | 2-8 | Literacy, maths, science, art, music | iOS, Android | Free tier plus subscription | None (ad-free) | Yes | Progress reports, up to 4 child profiles; kidSAFE certified |
| Epic | Not stated | Reading: 40,000+ books and audiobooks | iOS, Android, browser | Subscription after 7-day trial | None flagged | Yes | Up to 4 child profiles; parent dashboard |
| Duolingo | Rated 4+, built for all ages | 40+ languages, maths, music, chess | iOS, Android, web | Free with ads; paid Super | Yes, on the free tier | Paid tier only | None for children |
| Khan Academy | Rated 13+ | Maths, science, humanities | iOS, Android, web | Free, nonprofit | None | Yes | None for children |
| Photomath | Rated 4+; elementary to college | Maths, step by step | iOS, Android | Free tier; paid Plus | None flagged | Not stated | None |
| Prodigy Math | School-age | Standards-aligned maths in a game | iOS, Android, web | Free to play; paid Membership | None flagged | Not stated | Free parent account; iKeepSafe COPPA Safe Harbor |
| ScratchJr | 5 and up | Block coding, creative projects | iPad, iPhone, Mac, Android | Free, no purchases | None | Yes | Nothing leaves the device |
Three notes on reading it. "Not stated" means the company does not publish that detail, not that the answer is no. "None flagged" means neither store listing declares advertising, which is the app maker's own declaration rather than our audit. We no longer print competitor subscription prices, because they vary by region and promotions change them weekly; check the store before you subscribe. Prodigy also publishes Prodigy English.
How we tested and reviewed this
Two things matter in a roundup like this: whether the facts are true, and whether the judgement is worth reading. They are checked differently.
The facts. Ages, platforms, ads and parental controls were read off primary sources only (each app's App Store listing, Google Play listing, or its own website), first in August 2026 and again on 9 October 2026. Where a company does not publish something, the table says "Not stated" instead of filling the gap with a guess. Subscription pricing varies by region and promotions run constantly, so check the store for the price you will actually pay. Google Play's "Contains ads" flag is the source for the ads column, because it is the app maker's own declaration rather than our impression.
The judgement. Which apps made the list, and which one we recommend for each age and goal, comes from the Askie team's own hands-on use of them, weighed against four questions: does the app explain or merely reward; does it adapt when a child gets something wrong; how much of it survives the end of the free tier; and would we hand it to our own children unsupervised. That is editorial opinion, formed by people who build a competing product, and you should read it as such. The facts in the table are the part that does not depend on trusting us.
What we do not claim. We have not audited any company's data practices, and we do not certify any app as COPPA-compliant or otherwise safe. Where an app states a certification, as ABCmouse does with kidSAFE+ COPPA, Lingokids with kidSAFE and Prodigy with iKeepSafe, that is the company's claim, reported as such. Our guide to COPPA-compliant AI for kids explains how to check one. Check each privacy policy yourself before your child signs in.
Who wrote this. Written by the Askie editorial team. Facts last re-checked 9 October 2026. Corrections go to askie@kidsai.app and we will date-stamp any change we make.
Best educational apps for ages 2-5
Pre-readers need three things: no reading required, no dead ends, and no way to accidentally spend money or wander into something unsuitable.
Khan Academy Kids is the strongest starting point and it costs nothing, permanently. It is a nonprofit product with no subscription tier at all, no ads, and a curriculum built with the Stanford Graduate School of Education covering phonics, early maths, storybooks and social-emotional skills for ages 2-8. It works offline, which matters more than it sounds when you are on a plane or in a waiting room. The honest limit: a child near the top of that range moves through it quickly, and there is no adaptive conversation. It is a fixed path, beautifully made.
Lingokids covers a similar age range (2-8) with a lighter, more entertainment-led feel: over 4,000 games, songs and shows, ad-free and kidSAFE certified, with subjects spanning literacy, maths, science, art and music, offline play, and up to four child profiles. It leans heavily on licensed characters (Disney, Blippi, Pocoyo), which is either the reason your child opens it or the reason you are wary of it. It is free to download; the full library is a subscription.
ABCmouse is the most comprehensive paid option for this band: 13,000+ games, books, songs and activities across reading, maths, science, art and music for ages 2-8, with progress tracking, offline play once installed, and no third-party ads. It is a subscription, so it earns its place only if your child is squarely in the preschool-to-second-grade window it is aligned to.
Askie works from age 4, and it is a different shape entirely: your child talks and it answers, so a pre-reader gets a real conversation rather than tapping through a lesson. For this age band that is the whole point: a 4-year-old can ask "where does rain come from" out loud and get an answer pitched at four, not at fourteen.
Best educational apps for ages 6-8
This is the learning-to-read window, and it is where free apps are unusually strong.
Duolingo ABC is the standout: a phonics-first literacy app covering the alphabet, phonics, sight words and vocabulary from preschool to first grade, built around 700+ lessons and interactive stories. It is free, with no ads and no in-app purchases at all, a genuinely rare combination, and it works offline. Duolingo cites research by the Education Development Center finding that children who used it for nine weeks improved literacy scores by 28%; that is the company's own cited study, so read it as a claim with a source attached rather than an independent verdict. The limit: it is English literacy only, and once a child is reading fluently they are done with it.
Epic is the natural companion at this age: 40,000+ books, audiobooks and learning videos, with read-to-me books for children who are not yet fluent, up to four child profiles, a parent dashboard showing what they actually read, and offline downloads. It is a paid subscription after a 7-day free trial, and free for educators. It is a library, not a teacher: it will not explain anything, and it does not adapt.
ScratchJr is the free introduction to coding for children aged 5 and up, supported by the nonprofit Scratch Foundation. Children snap graphical blocks together to make characters move and talk. No purchases, no ads, and projects live on the device. It has no lesson structure whatsoever, so most children need an adult for the first twenty minutes.
Prodigy Math turns maths questions aligned to state standards such as Common Core into an RPG where answering correctly wins battles. Free to play, with an optional paid Membership, and a free parent account that shows what your child is practising and lets you set goals. The trade-off is inherent to the model: the game is the motivation, so some children optimise for the game and tolerate the maths.
Best educational apps for ages 9-12
Older children need explanation, not encouragement stickers, and this is where store age ratings start to matter.
Khan Academy (the main app, not Kids) is free forever and covers maths, science, economics, grammar and history with videos, practice and step-by-step hints, including offline downloads. Its App Store age rating is 13+, which does not mean a 10-year-old cannot learn from it: it means Apple classes it as a general-audience product, so use it alongside your child on a shared account rather than handing it over as a children's app.
Photomath, now published by Google, scans a maths problem, handwritten, printed or on screen, and breaks the solution into steps. The free tier gives step-by-step explanations; the paid Photomath Plus adds extra help on top. Used well, it is the closest thing to a patient tutor at 9pm. Used badly, it is a photocopier for homework answers, and there are no parental controls to stop the second use, so that supervision is yours.
Askie spans 4 to 15 and is the option built for the questions that have no worksheet: why volcanoes erupt, how a vaccine works, what happened in 1066. It helps with homework by explaining rather than handing over answers, adapts to the child's age, and parents can review conversation transcripts. If you want a fuller comparison of AI options for this age, see our AI tutoring apps roundup and best AI homework apps.
Best language-learning apps for kids
"Best English learning app" and "language app for kids" are two different questions, and most roundups blur them.
If your child is learning to read English, the answer is Duolingo ABC: free, no ads, no purchases, offline, phonics-first, preschool to first grade. It is not a language-learning app in the ESL sense: it teaches an English-speaking child to decode English.
If your child is learning English as an additional language, Lingokids (ages 2-8) is the more natural fit. Its whole curriculum runs through games, songs and shows for 2 to 8s, ad-free and kidSAFE certified, with some activities built alongside Oxford University Press and NASA, and it now offers content in Spanish too.
If your child wants a second language and is old enough for a general-audience app, Duolingo covers 40+ languages with bite-sized lessons, and describes itself as the world's most downloaded education app. Two things to know before you install it on a child's device: Google Play flags it as containing ads, removable only with the paid Super tier, and it is designed for a general audience, not for children. It also now teaches maths, music and chess.
If you want conversation practice rather than drills, Askie is available in nine languages (English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Japanese, Russian, Hebrew and Arabic) and helps with language practice by voice. It is not a structured language course and does not pretend to be one: there is no syllabus, no placement test and no grammar progression. What it gives is patient, low-stakes speaking practice with no streak to keep. Voice time on the free plan is limited, so check the plans against how much your child would actually talk.
A note on Khan Academy Kids for bilingual homes: its Read-To-Me storybooks are narrated in English or Spanish, which makes it quietly useful for Spanish-speaking families even though it is not marketed as a language app.
Askie, reviewed on the same terms
Askie is our product, so here is the same treatment we gave everything else.
What it is: a voice-first AI companion for ages 4-15 on iOS, Android and the web. A child talks instead of typing and gets an answer pitched at their age, plus creative image making, stories, language practice, and explanations of homework rather than answers to it.
What parents get: parent-managed child profiles, settings behind a parent-only PIN, conversation transcripts and created artwork to review, multi-layer safety filtering, and an opt-out safety heads-up if a conversation suggests a serious real-life concern. No ads, and no child data sold. It was named a 2026 NAPPA Award winner and is 5-Star Certified by the Educational App Store.
What it costs: a free plan, then $14.99/mo Premium or $39.99/mo Premium Max.
Where it falls short: there is no curriculum. Askie follows the child's curiosity, so it will not march them through phonics or times tables the way Khan Academy Kids or ABCmouse will. If you want a structured path, this is the wrong tool and one of those is the right one. It needs an internet connection, so it is no use on a plane where Duolingo ABC and Epic still work. It is a younger product than Khan Academy or ABCmouse. And like every AI tool, it can be wrong; that is what the transcripts are for, so you can see what it said.
What actually matters when you choose
Four questions cut through most of the marketing:
- Does it explain, or just reward? Stickers and streaks drive minutes. Explanations drive understanding. Check what happens when your child gets an answer wrong: the good apps show the working, the weak ones show a sad noise and move on.
- What does it do when the free tier ends? Some apps degrade gracefully. Others turn into a paywall with a cartoon on it. Watch this before you subscribe, not after.
- Who is the ad customer? An app with ads has an advertiser as a customer and your child as inventory. Of the apps here, only Duolingo declares ads, and only on its free tier, but that is the question to ask of anything not on this list.
- Can you see what happened? Transcripts, reading history and progress dashboards are the difference between supervising and hoping.
The bottom line
There is no single app that does everything, and the honest answer for most families is two: something structured for the fundamentals, and something open-ended for curiosity. Khan Academy Kids plus Askie covers a 5-year-old completely and costs one subscription. For a 10-year-old, Khan Academy plus Photomath handles school, and a reading app handles the rest.
Start with the one that fits the age band above, use the free tier for a fortnight before paying anything, and delete whatever your child stops opening. The best educational app is the one they choose on their own.
Ready to Try AI-Powered Learning?
Askie gives your child a safe, age-appropriate AI companion that explains the world at their level. No ads, and your child's data is never sold.